My Reflections on Christmas

my-reflections-on-christmas

Since childhood we have been bombarded by innumerable experiences in relation to Christmas. For kids, Christmas is fun through receiving gifts and toys. Some of us are celebrating their special days like birthdays and wedding anniversaries. To others, bad memories of the death of a loved one and discovery of a cancerous tumor unfortunately occurred amidst the festivities. We have unique and different sentiment when it comes to Christmas depending on our situation.

Amidst the hectic December schedules of attending to work, church and family related occasions, I found time to reflect on what God has been doing in my life.

When we had our Friday values session, I was reminded that Christmas is all about Jesus. As practice, we have been missing the point since we have the mindset that the season is about receiving gifts. Let us be reminded that it is our loving messiah’s birthday and it is but fitting to celebrate the reason of his coming that is to redeem the sinners like you and me.

When we visited the province, I had the opportunity to share Jesus, God’s greatest gift to mankind, to one of my siblings. As what Chuck Swindoll said, “Never miss an opportunity to share the good news during Christmas.” When I obeyed God last weekend, it was the most fulfilling thing that happened to me. Amen!

When we attended the interment late Atty. Montanez, the father in law of my wife’s cousin, I realized that life is short and relationship matters. Though he died at full ripe age of 90, I realized that life is like a vapor that is here today and gone tomorrow. Since we know the brevity of life and the certainty of death, let us live by the moment, creating more wonderful memories with our loved ones, relating with others, and trusting and obeying God.

During the Dawn Christmas that we attended, I learned that aside from Christ as the best gift from above, God also gave us the gift of chance and choice. The chance to change our bad habits and attitudes and the power to choose what is right and pleasing to God. I was also reminded of the word “incarnational” that “the Word became flesh and blood, and moved into the neighborhood.” (John 1:14a,The Message). We have been born again by the power of God, given a chance to serve and live again. Like what had transpired in the Prodigal Son story, It is not yet too late to do good starting this Christmas.

Finally, we cannot get rid of the busyness and demands of the holiday season but we can encounter God if only if we are sensitive with His presence. We can meet God amidst our overwhelming schedules in this time of the year. Again, Merry Christmas everyone!

Leave a comment