2nd Year Blog Anniversary

The Man and the Word blog has been here serving not only as a platform to share God’s Word but also graciously providing an opportunity to hone and develop my gift on writing. Lately, I have read an article from Chicken Soup for the Soul, Inspiration for Writers, that rekindled once more my dream to become a writer. I felt inspired when the author mentioned the verse from 2 Timothy 1:6 that says, “Stir that gift within you.” Though these words were Paul’s instruction to Timothy, it is relevant for us who desire to use that God- given gifts to accomplish whatever tasks and mission He called us to do.

Time runs so fast without me knowing, it is already the second year anniversary of the Man and The Word. I dream that one day the weekly devotional articles will be compiled into a (365-day) devotional book with the desire to inspire, bless and transform the lives of not only men but people of different walks of life. I believe that there is a spiritual vacuum in every man’s heart that only God can fill. People resorted to amass wealth, aspire for fame, hunger for power, and pursue many other things. Just a disclaimer that there’s nothing wrong when God provided us these things. The wisest man during his time, King Solomon said, “Everything is meaningless” even though he has everything. He eventually concluded: “To fear God and obey His commandments. For God will bring anything to judgment to include all hidden things good or bad.” (Ecclesiastes 12:13-14)

In order keep the blog quality week after week, I have to minimize my social media exposure. I realize the importance of having a quiet heart as a writer. From time to time, we need a “social media detox” since our spiritual life is likened to a body that needs cleansing brought by the toxins intake. This has been the reason why I intentionally deactivated my Facebook account to get rid of the distractions and to restore my focus and listening to God.

For the past two years, I have established pattern I learned from Ezra 7:10 that says, “For Ezra had devoted himself to the study and observance of the Law of the Lord, and to teaching its decrees and laws in Israel.” I have to spend time studying the Word of God, and apply by obeying it before writing or sharing it to others. Indeed, we can only share lavishly what we have. I admit that my spiritual growth significantly deepened when I started my blogging journey. God be praised!

Finally, I will seize this opportunity to seek your help through prayers for this blog writing will continue as God allows. Please pray for strength, wisdom, endurance and holiness. All glory and honor belongs to Him alone!

 

Leave a comment